Skip to main content
    The Nunavut Elections Act requires that an electoral boundaries commission
    “must be established for Nunavut every 10 years commencing in 2022”.
About Commission
Justice Cooper will serve as the Commission’s Presiding Officer
The Legislative Assembly has unanimously recommended the appointments of the Honourable Justice Susan Cooper and Messrs. Michael Hughson and John Maurice to serve on the Electoral Boundaries Commission.


Honourable Justice Susan Cooper

Justice Cooper has lived in the north since 1987.

Michael Hughson

Michael Hughson is a long-term resident of Baker Lake and former manager in the Department of Community and Government Services.

John Maurice

John Maurice is a long-time resident of Nunavut and former teacher.

Public Consultations

Scheduled visits to some communities may change if travel is disrupted.  We encourage residents to contact us or make submissions through the website if we are unable to reschedule a visit to your community.


Kitikmeot Region

Kivalliq Region

Qikiqtaaluk Region

Latest News

RE: Nunavut Electoral Boundaries Commission

As you may be aware, the Nunavut Electoral Boundaries Commission was established on October 26, 2022.  

Legislative Assembly Establishes Electoral Boundaries Commission

IQALUIT, Nunavut (October 26, 2022) - The Legislative Assembly today approved a motion to establish an Electoral Boundaries Commission.